Our Story

Organized in 1993, the Capital District Triathlon Club (CDTC) membership comprises approximately 200 men and women from the New York State Capital District region, as well as members from Columbia & Saratoga Counties, Southern Vermont and Western Massachusetts. The CDTC, now heading into its 18th season, is one of the largest multisport clubs in the Northeast.

Our club, promoting a healthy life style, conducts a twelve-week training series every summer at Crystal Lake, Averill Park. The Tuesday night training series begins in June and continues until the last week of August. The club also conducts monthly meetings September through May in order to get together, catch up on what is going on, and talk about race results and schedule for upcoming events. This information is also relayed to our members by way of E-Mail and updated web page where we offer monthly training tips, product and equipment exchange as well as space for advertising by our corporate sponsors. We have a strong history of sponsor support from financial institutions, to engineering firms and sporting goods stores and our members have responded positively to our sponsors.

The goal of CDTC is continued participation in and promotion of multi-sport activities in the Capital Region of upstate NY. High on CDTC’s agenda is corporate sponsorship of the Club and local multi-sport events. Over the past couple of years members of the club have participated in Ironman USA in Lake Placid, Ironman Florida in Panama City and Ironman New Zealand. Several have qualified for and participated in the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii as well as the USAT World Championships in Cancun.

Officers Member Name E-Mail Address
President: Ken Lane President@cdtriclub.org
Vice Presidents: Dennis Beardsley VicePresident@cdtriclub.org
Lee Hilt
Treasurer : Peg Phillips Treasurer@cdtriclub.org
Secretary: Kim Morrison Secretary@cdtriclub.org
Committees Member Name E-Mail Address
Adopt a Highway: Chris Busch AdoptaHighway@cdtriclub.org
Club Clothing: Melissa Tiberio ClubClothing@cdtriclub.org
Crystal Lake Training: Lee Hilt CrystalLakeTraining@cdtriclub.org
Open
Equipment: Lee Hilt Equipment@cdtriclub.org
John Perry
Membership: Dennis Beardsley Membership@cdtriclub.org
Melissa Tiberio
Mentorship: Ken Lane Mentorship@cdtriclub.org
Race: Lee Hilt Race@cdtriclub.org
Sponsorship: Ken Lane Sponorship@cdtriclub.org
Web and E-Mail: Ian Morrison Web@cdtriclub.org